Contact: Michele Altman, CSS ETA International Phone: (800) 288-3824 Fax: (765) 653-4287

5 Depot Street Greencastle, IN 46135 www.eta-i.org

ETA® INTERNATIONAL



PRESS RELEASE

ETA® International Recognizes Annual Award Winners

ETA® International recently selected the annual award winners who made outstanding contributions to the electronics industry during the past year.

Greencastle, January 9, 2015: ETA recognized the contributions of one outstanding technician, educator and student chapter dedicated to the highest standards of excellence during the previous year with ETA's annual awards. Those awards include:

The Norris R. Browne Memorial – Technician of the Year award is presented to an individual for their outstanding service to electronics technicians as a certification administrator, board of directors officer, state representative, or subject matter expert on the ETA advisory board. Norris R. Browne was president of the National Electronic Association (NEA) and a service business owner. He was also instrumental in founding ISCET, our predecessor. His goal was to promote electronics technicians to the best of his ability.

The Technician of the Year is given to Cameron Karch, FOI, FOSP, of Tukwila, WA. He has been involved with communications since 1983, specializing as a technician in both voice and data protocols. He has performed both project management and quality control tasks in addition to splicing, testing and emergency restoration disciplines for a variety of CATV, telephone companies, end users and government organizations. Karch has a variety of certifications from the White House and the Optical Society of America. He has worked as a fiber optic technician and an instructor for the Light Brigade since 1987.

The Wallace Medeiros Memorial - Educator of the Year award is presented to an individual for outstanding dedication and devotion in the education of those pursuing careers in electronics and related fields. The award was established in 2005 and is given in honor of Wallace Medeiro, PhD, CETma, who passed away in 2001.

The Educator of the Year is awarded to Philip Schmitt, WCMM, SMW, PV-1, CAST, of Kalamazoo, MI graduated from Western Michigan University with a major in Electronics Technology in 1971 and worked in the fields of Wireless Communications and Security Electronics. Upon graduation with a Master's in Education in 1984, he started his 29-year teaching career at the Michigan Career and Technical Institute in Plainwell, MI, as a state vocationally-certified instructor of electricity-electronics where he taught electronics, mathematics, renewable energy, broadcast engineering, FCC Licensing, and industrial relations. Schmitt worked with ETA in the development of the Solar PV Installer Certification and Wind Energy Installer Certifications. ETA recognized him as the 'ETA Technician of the Year' in 2009. Schmitt continues to students in Amateur Radio and Electronics and encourages them to become ETA-certified.

The 2014 Student Chapter of the Year is presented to Carbon Career & Technical Institute Student Chapter #203. It formed in January 2014 with the intent of promoting careers in electronics and

supporting student electronics technicians. The chapter has produced six CET/CETa level technicians in its first year under the direction of advisor Joseph Farkas, CETsr. While promoting the electronics industry to students and the public in Jim Thorpe, PA, teams have competed in SkillsUSA and earned gold and silver medals at the state level. Chapter #203 continues to work with local schools and organizations to deliver the focused pathway message of Classroom-Certification-Careers. The students look forward to working with senior citizens to help improve their computer literacy as one of the chapter projects for 2015.

Besides these three categories, ETA also recognized other top contributors to the association who deserve recognition.

The Peter 'Pete' Honczar Award is given in memory of former ETA Chairman, officer, teacher and technician, Peter Honczar, CETma. He was widely recognized for his leadership, spirit of commitment to the industry, technical knowledge and abilities. This award is presented to an outstanding officer, committee person or chapter leader who displays unselfish and effective commitment to electronics technicians. This year's Pete Award is presented to John Baldwin, CETsr, South Central College (retired) of Faribault, MN.

The President's Award is given to an outstanding officer, committeeperson or chapter leader. The 2014 President's Award is presented to William Woodward, FOD, Ursa Navigations Solutions Inc. of Virginia Beach, VA and Ira Wiesnfeld, CETsr, Ira Wiesenfeld & Associates of Dallas, TX. The Excellence Awards are given to individuals willing to go above and beyond what a typical member might contribute and who will volunteer at a moment's notice for ETA. This year's Excellence Awards are presented to Robert Yount, CETma, Motorola (retired) of Austin, TX; Chuck Casbeer, FOD, Infotec of Virginia Beach, VA; and Matt Mercier, CETsr, Northeastern Communications Inc./Naugatuck of Plymouth, CT.

The George Savage Top Certification Administrators Awards are given in memory of Master CET George Savage, who died in 1996. He was one of very few to serve two terms as ETA's elected Chairman of the Board. He received the very first Technician of the Year accolade and was responsible for having more new ETA members recruited than any other person. He was continually a tremendous contributor to the success of the organization.

The 2014 George Savage CA Award for the most Certified Electronics Technician exams administered is presented to Ira Wiesnfeld, CETsr, Ira Wiesenfeld & Associates of Dallas, TX. The 2014 George Savage CA Award for the most Fiber Optics exams administered is presented to David J. Cameron, FOSP, Light Brigade of Mocksville, NC.

About ETA - Since 1978, ETA has issued over 150,000 professional certifications. Widely recognized and frequently used in worker job selection, hiring processes, pay increases, and advancements, ETA certifications are often required as companies bid on contracts. ETA's certifications are personal and travel with the individual, regardless of employment or status change and measure competencies of persons, not products or vendors. All ETA certifications are accredited through the International Certification Accreditation Council (ICAC) and align with the ISO-17024 standard. www.eta-i.org

Download this press release at - http://www.eta-i.org/pr/ETA International Recognizes Annual Award Winners.pdf

###